Dungen - Häxan CD

Dungen - Häxan CD

It’s only a year since Dungen released their acclaimed album ‘Allas Sak’, and now they return with a brand new album, and their first fully instrumental album.

In between the release of Dungen’s most recent two albums (2010’s ‘Skit I Allt’ and 2015’s ‘Allas Sak’), the beloved Stockholm quartet were asked to create an original score to German pioneer Lotte Reiniger’s 1926 touchstone The Adventures of Prince Achmed, the oldest surviving feature-length animated film. The story is based on a fairytale inspired by ‘One Thousand And One Nights’ – namely ‘The Story of Prince Ahmedand The Fairy Paribanou’ featured in Andrew Lang’s “Blue Fairy Book”. It was painstakingly created with stop motion silhouette animation, similar to Javanese Wayang shadow puppets.

Inspired by the film and in particular a powerful wild Witch within the story, the band shaped the music on the record (Häxan translation is “The Witch” in Swedish). The album is produced by Mathias Glavå and was recorded onto analogue tape. The mix/editing was also done on tape leaving the mistakes to create rawness and a loose, abstract and fragmented collage feel.

Dungen’s signature sound is here, but there is also dissonant free-form rock-outs, small ambient passages and beautiful cinematic soundscapes. Moody, evocative, stormy, and brimming with life, the 14 pieces that comprise Häxan provide both a tacit summation of the Dungen journey up to today, and gave the virtuoso group a chance to stretch out like never before.

1. Peri Banu vid sjön
2. Jakten genom skogen
3. Wak-Wak’s portar
4. Den Fattige Aladdin
5. Trollkarlen och fågeldräkten
6. Grottan
7. Häxan 
8. Aladdins flykt över havet
9. Kalifen
10. Achmed flyger
11. Aladdin och lampan, del 1
12. Aladdin och lampan, del 2
13. Achmed och Peri Banu
14. Andarnas Krig

Released: 2016-11-18
160 SEK